Adjustments

When I was in grad school, I once wrote in a paper that “Ben Franklin had it wrong. There are not two sure things in life; there are three: death, taxes, and change.” As I recall, my professor loved that quote, and even asked me if he could use it.

The fact is, change happens. And when it does, we need to adjust to it.

For some reason, I started thinking about this yesterday after work, when I decided to make use of one of my work perks: free access to the gym on the university campus. I had spent several years doing CrossFit, but stopped after I started dealing with pain in my leg joints. As I mentioned in an earlier article, one of my goals was to become physically active again, so I went to campus after work to fulfill that goal.

However, after years of being spoiled at a well-appointed CrossFit gym, the on-campus fitness center was a disappointment. The fitness center in and of itself had plenty of equipment, but my biggest issue, among others, was the lack of a locker room; the only publicly-available one (that I was aware of) was across the promenade from the fitness center in the physical fitness building, and there was no way to get to it without going outside. When you live in a region where it gets cold and snows in the winter, like I do, that tends to be a pretty big deal. I had to settle for changing in the adjacent bathroom (and I hate changing in bathrooms).

There are a number of things I could do. I could quit altogether (not a preferred option). I could join another gym, but that could get pricey. Or I could adjust and make the best of what I have. I decided on this option. I brought a change of clothes to work so I could change into gym shorts before I went over. I picked out a secure location where I can store items (like my wallet). I made adjustments so that the only things I’d bring to the fitness center was my phone, my headphones, and a water bottle. It’s not an ideal situation, but I’m making adjustments to make the best of what’s given to me.

I could continue to wax poetic about how we need to make adjustments throughout our lives. I’ve practically made an entire career out of adjusting to my environment. Nothing is static. We are all constantly dealing with change, whether it’s with our jobs, careers, school, families, relationships, everyday life, whatever. And when (not if) it does, we need to be able to adjust to it. Those who adjust to whatever change happens are the ones most likely to survive.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.